The Eight Limbs

Ashtanga means the eight limbs of yoga and was systemized by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. The limbs are eight steps which all support each other, dedicated to guiding the practitioner to the path towards enlightenment, the pathway of yoga, and the creation of the union of the mind, body and soul.

Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras contain 196 sutras written in four chapters that will give you a better understanding of the yoga practice. Guruji said “small words-big meaning”.

The eight limbs are:  yama (restraints), niyama (observances), asana (posture), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (sense withdrawal), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (enlightenment).